Kabardino-Balkarian Republic is located in the central, most high-mountainous (up to 5000 m above sea level) part of the Greater Caucasus, on its northern slopes, in the basin of the left tributaries of the Terek.

The republic occupies part of the Ciscaucasian plain. In the north, its territory borders with the Stavropol territory, in the east and southeast - with the Republic of North Ossetia-Alania, in the south - with the Republic of Georgia, in the west - with the Karachay-Cherkess Republic.

The total area of the republic is 12.5 thousand km. sq, it is 0.7% of the area of the Russian Federation and 2.9% of the area of the North Caucasus region. Kabardino-Balkaria is a mountainous republic.

According to the peculiarities of its structure and the nature of the relief, the territory of Kabardino-Balkaria is divided into three parts: plain (33%), foothill (16%) and mountainous (51%).

The mountain part is represented by three parallel ridges stretching from the north-west to the southeast: the Main Caucasus or the Watershed Ridge, Lateral and Rocky. All ridges are separated from each other by longitudinal valleys (depressions).

The main Caucasian ridge limits the territory of Kabardino-Balkaria from the south and south-west and represents a single continuous mountain chain covered with eternal snows and ice.

To the north of the Main Caucasian ridge, at a distance of 3-11 km, there is the Lateral Ridge, which forms the greatest peaks of the Caucasus: Elbrus (the western peak -5642 m. and the eastern peak - 5621 m. Dikh-Tau (5204 m a.s.l.); Koshtan-Tau (5151 m a.s.l.); Pushkin Peak (5100 m a.s.l.); Kazbek (5033 m a.s.l.); Mizhirgi (5025 m a.s.l.). The Lateral ridge consists of crystalline schists, gneisses and uneven-aged granites.

Between the Main and Lateral ridges is the South Jurassic depression - the Shtullin depression, reaching 1500-3000 m. Depression is composed of Lower and Middle Jurassic schists, sandstones easily destroyed.

The rocky ridge is located north of the Lateral ridge and is a chain of disjointed massifs, separated by deep canyon-like gorges. Absolute heights here on the average reach 3000 m a.s.l. The Lateral ridge from the Rocky ridge is separated by an extensive intermontane basin - the North-Jurassic. It is composed of clay shales, sandstones of the lower and middle Cretaceous, limestones, marls, dolomites of the Upper Jurassic.


Water resources

The territory of Kabardino-Balkaria has a fairly developed river network. The area of ​​land under surface water objects, including bogs, according to the State Committee for Land Resources (2004), is 16.4 thousand hectares. The rivers of Kabardino-Balkaria: Terek - 623 km, Malka - 216 km, Cherek - 131 km, Chegem - 102 km, Argudan, Baksan 173 km, Kurkuzhin, Lesken, Uruh.

The water regime of the rivers of Kabardino-Balkaria is divided into two groups: glacial feeding rivers (Terek, Malka, Baksan, Chegem, Cherek, Sukan-Su) and rivers without glacial feeding, where groundwater nutrition plays a significant role (Nalchik, Shalushka, Lesken and others). The role of rain water is low. The maximum flow of water in the rivers of glacial feeding occurs in the summer months (June-August), when glaciers, high-mountain snow melt, and ice-free for the spring and autumn.

The territory of the republic is characterized by a wide variety and richness of hydromineral resources, represented by fresh, mineral and thermal energy waters. In Kabardino-Balkarian Republic there are more than 100 lakes, a significant part of them belongs to small lakes, the area of ​​the water mirror is not more than 0.01 sq.km. Most of the lakes are in the highlands, their formation is associated with the glaciers of the karst processes, and flat lakes are the residual reservoirs - river oldeners.

The unique lake Chirikkel (blue lake) is located on the right bank river terrace of the river. Cherek - Balkarian. The area of ​​the water surface is 26 thousand square meters, depth 368 m, length 235 m, width 180 m. In water, the significant content of hydrogen sulphide and its concentration increases with depth. The level and temperature of the water in the lake remain unchanged throughout the year, taking into account the fact that no river flows into it, and the only unnamed river flows.

In Kabardino-Balkarian Republic, over one hundred manifestations of medicinal mineral groundwater have been identified. East-Baksanskoe, Nizhne-Baksanskoye and Aushegerskoe deposits of thermal power underground waters have been explored.

In the flat part, on the border of Kabardino-Balkaria and Stavropol Territory, there is a salt lake with therapeutic mud - Tambukanskoe, more than 2 km long and 0.6-1.1 km wide, 1.6 km deep on average.

Кабардино-Балкарская Республика расположена в центральной, наиболее высокогорной (до 5000 м. над уровнем моря и выше) части Большого Кавказа, на его северных склонах, в бассейне левых притоков река Терека.

Республика занимает часть Предкавказской равнины. На севере ее территория граничит со Ставропольским краем, на востоке и юго-востоке – с Республикой Северная Осетия-Алания, на юге – с Республикой Грузия, на западе – с Карачаево-Черкесской Республикой.

Общая площадь республики составляет 12,5 тыс. км2, это 0,7% от площади Российской Федерации и 2,9% от площади Северо-Кавказского региона. Кабардино-Балкария – горная республика.

По особенностям своего строения и характеру рельефа территория Кабардино-Балкарии делится на три части: равнинную (33%), предгорную (16%) и горную (51 %).
Горная часть представлена тремя параллельными хребтами, протянувшимися с северо-запада на юго-восток: Главный Кавказский или Водораздельный хребет, Боковой и Скалистый. Все хребты отделены друг от друга продольными долинами (депрессиями).

Главный Кавказский хребет ограничивает территорию Кабардино-Балкарии с юга и юго-запада и представляет собой единую непрерывную горную цепь, покрытую вечными снегами и льдами.

К северу от Главного Кавказского хребта на расстоянии 3-11 км тянется Боковой хребет, который образует величайшие вершины Кавказа: Эльбрус (западная вершина –5642 м н.у.м. и восточная – 5621 м н.у.м.); Дых-Тау (5204 м н.у.м.); Коштан-Тау (5151 м н.у.м.); Пик Пушкина (5100 м н.у.м.); Казбек (5033 м н.у.м.); Мижирги (5025 м н.у.м.). Боковой хребет слагают кристаллические сланцы, гнейсы и разновозрастные граниты.


Между Главным и Боковым хребтами находится южноюрская депрессия – Штуллинское понижение, достигающая 1500-3000 м н.у.м. Депрессия сложена среднеюрскими сланцами, песчаниками, легко подвергающимися разрушению.

Скалистый хребет расположен севернее Бокового хребта и представляет собой цепь разобщенных массивов, разделенных глубокими каньонообразными теснинами. Абсолютные высоты здесь в среднем достигают 3000 м н.у.м.. Боковой хребет от Скалистого хребта отделяет обширная межгорная котловина – Северо-Юрская. Она сложена глинистыми сланцами, песчаниками нижнего и среднего мела, известняками, мергелями, доломитами верхней юры.

                                                                В о д н ы е  р е с у р с ы

IMG_7286.JPG

Территория Кабардино-Балкарии обладает достаточно развитой речной сетью. Площадь земель под поверхностными водными объектами, включая болота, по данным Госкомзема (2004), составляет 16,4 тыс. га. Реки Кабардино-Балкарии: Терек - 623 км, Малка - 216 км, Черек - 131 км, Чегем - 102 км, Аргудан, Баксан 173 км, Куркужин, Лескен, Урух.

По водному режиму реки Кабардино-Балкарии делятся на 2 группы реки ледникового (Терек, Малка, Баксан, Чегем, Черек, Сукан-Су) и безледникового питания, где значительная роль принадлежит грунтовому питанию (Нальчик, Шалушка, Лескен и другие). Роль дождевых вод невелика. Максимальный сток воды в реках ледникового питания приходится на летние месяцы (июнь-август), когда тают ледники, высокогорные снега, а безледникового - на весну и осень.

Территория республики характеризуется широким разнообразием и богатством гидроминеральных ресурсов, представленных пресными, минеральными и теплоэнергетическими водами. В Кабардино-Балкарской Республике более 100 озер, значительная их часть относится к малым озерам, площадью зеркала воды не более 0,01 кв. км. Большая часть озер находится в высокогорьях, их образование связано с ледниками, карстовыми процессами, а равнинные озера – это остаточные водоемы – старицы рек.

Уникальное озеро Чириккель (голубое озеро) расположено на правобережной речной террасе р. Черек - Балкарский. Площадь водной поверхности 26 тыс. кв. м, глубина 368 м, длина 235 м, ширина 180 м. В воде значительное содержание сероводорода и его концентрация увеличивается с глубиной. Уровень и температура воды в озере остаются неизменными в течение года с учетом той особенности, что в него не впадает ни одна река, а вытекает единственная безымянная речка.

В Кабардино-Балкарской Республике выявлено свыше ста проявлений лечебных минеральных подземных вод. Разведано Восточно-Баксанское, Нижнее-Баксанское и Аушигерское месторождения теплоэнергетических подземных вод.

В равнинной части, на границе Кабардино-Балкарии и Ставропольского края, расположено соленое озеро с лечебной грязью - Тамбуканское, длиной более 2 км и шириной 0,6 - 1,1 км, глубиной в среднем 1,6 км.